Skip to main content

Digital Library of South Dakota

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: DSU University Archives - DSU

  • All fields: ca.
(71 results)



Display: 20

    • Drawing of the first building on campus

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota Normal School -- Buildings
    • In 1884, appropriations were secured and construction began on the first college building, a 50' x 70', three-story, wood-frame structure including a half-basement. On November 2, 1885 the school moved into a new wooden building with 107...
    • West Wing

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota Normal School -- Buildings
    • West Wing opened its doors in September of 1886. Originally the Library and President's office were housed in the building. The Model School was in the basement. The name of the building changed to Beadle Hall in honor of General William Henry...
    • East Wing auditorium

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota Normal School -- Buildings; Madison State Normal School -- Buildings
    • The auditorium in the East Wing. The Legislature appropriated money for the construction of East Wing in 1901. It was constructed in 1904 and housed administrative offices, library and the auditorium. In 1955, East Wing was renamed Kennedy Hall in...
    • Science Hall

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota Normal School -- Buildings; Madison State Normal School -- Buildings
    • The Science Hall was built in 1910. The first floor was a laboratory, and a classroom facility for chemistry, physics and agriculture. The second floor was the gymnasium. In 1923, a balcony was added. This building was located on the southwest...
    • Jerald A. Tunheim Classroom Building

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota Normal School -- Buildings; Madison State Normal School -- Buildings
    • In 2002-2003, the original Science Hall was completely renovated to become the technology center on campus and was named the TCB – Technology Classroom Building. In September 25, 2009 it was dedicated and named the Jerald A. Tunheim Classroom...
    • Heating Plant

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; General Beadle State College -- Buildings
    • The Heating Plant was often called the Power House. The original heating plant was built between 1898 and 1899. In 1907, the smokestack was added. The building was expanded in 1913 to include the power house. It was located to the north of East...
    • Science Hall

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Eastern State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • The Science Hall was built in 1910. The first floor was a laboratory, and a classroom facility for chemistry, physics and agriculture. The second floor was the gymnasium. In 1923, a balcony was added. This building was located on the southwest area...
    • Campus Laboratory Training School

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Eastern State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • The Campus Laboratory Training School was built in 1917. It was an excellent teacher-in-training laboratory facility. In 1921, the name was changed to Eastern Campus School. Beadle Campus School became its name is 1947. On January 19, 1963 the...
    • Beadle Hall

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota Normal School -- Buildings
    • Beadle Hall was originally called West Wing. Its doors opened in September of 1886. Originally the Library and President's office were housed in the building and the Model School training department was in the basement. The name of the building...
    • Campus Laboratory Training School

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Eastern State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • The Campus Laboratory Training School was built in 1917. It was an excellent teacher-in-training laboratory facility. In 1921, the name was changed to Eastern Campus School. Beadle Campus School became its name is 1947. On January 19, 1963 the...
    • Memorial Gymnasium

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; General Beadle State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • In 1960, the construction of the Memorial Gymnasium was completed. It was built in conjunction with the National Guard and was often called the National Guard Armory in earlier years. The building was named in honor of those who lost their lives...
    • Lowry Hall

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; General Beadle State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • In 1958, Lowry Hall was built as a dormitory for 70 male students. It was named after Vayne Arnold Lowry, the President of the University from 1933-1962. In 2000, the Business & Education Institute (BEI) and Computing Services moved into the...
    • Smith-Zimmermann Heritage Museum

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; General Beadle State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • The Smith-Zimmermann Heritage Museum was dedicated on October 15, 1961 in honor of Captain and Mrs. H.P. Smith and Mr. and Mrs. Philip Zimmerman. In 1959, George Smith and Lillie Zimmermann together donated $75,000 for the museum building to be...
    • Girton Hall currently known as Girton House

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Madison State Normal -- Buildings
    • The house was built by William Wallace Girton. Mr. Girton was a member of the Normal School faculty from 1896-1914. In 1921, the State of SD acquired the house and lot to be used for dormitory purposes. It was then named Girton House. In 1924, it...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK