Skip to main content

Digital Library of South Dakota

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: DSU University Archives - DSU

  • All fields: Dakota State University -- Buildings (and)
  • Subject: dakota state college -- buildings
(27 results)



Display: 20

    • C. B. Kennedy Center

    • Dakota State College -- Buildings; Dakota State University -- Buildings
    • The C.B. Kennedy Center was built in 1987 on the site where Kennedy Hall used to stand. The Kennedy Center includes 11 classrooms and three computer labs. The building’s arch features various stones from the old Kennedy Hall.
    • Richardson Hall

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota State College -- Buildings
    • Richardson Hall is the largest of the dorms on the University campus. Construction of the hall completed during the summer of 1970. The building was named after Charles S. Richardson, first President of Dakota State University, known then as Dakota...
    • Karl E. Mundt Library

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota State College -- Buildings; Mundt, Karl E., 1900-1974
    • The Karl E. Mundt Library was constructed in 1967. The Mundt Library was named after long-time South Dakota Republican Senator Karl E. Mundt. The dedication was in June of 1969 with many nationally known figures in attendance including former...
    • Karl E. Mundt Library

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota State College -- Buildings; Mundt, Karl E., 1900-1974
    • The Karl E. Mundt Library was constructed in 1967. The Mundt Library was named after long-time South Dakota Republican Senator Karl E. Mundt. The dedication was in June of 1969 with many nationally known figures in attendance including former...
    • Tyrrell Physical Plant

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota State College -- Buildings
    • Construction of the Physical Plant began in 1970 and was completed in 1971. The 12,270 square foot new plant was named after Claude Tyrrell, former Superintendent of Buildings, and Preston, his son, whom later served Eastern State College as...
    • C. Ruth Habeger Science Center

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota State College -- Buildings
    • The Science Center was completed in August of 1972. It is 35,000 sq. ft. and one story high. It contains 2 large lecture rooms, a 200 seat auditorium, laboratories which can be used as classrooms, service areas, a greenhouse, a herbarium, and...
    • Dakota Prairie Playhouse & Conference Center

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota State College -- Buildings
    • Dakota Prairie Playhouse & Conference Center was built in 1988. The Dakota Prairie Playhouse is a multi-use facility located on the north edge of campus. The complex contains a conference room, theater, and common entrance for the two sections. ...
    • East Wing Library

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Dakota Normal School -- Buildings; Madison State Normal School -- Buildings; Eastern State Teachers College
    • The Library was housed in East Wing. The Legislature appropriated money for the construction of East Wing in 1901. It was constructed in 1904 and housed administrative offices, library and the auditorium. In 1955, East Wing was renamed Kennedy...
    • Campus Laboratory Training School fire

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; General Beadle State Teachers College -- Buildings; Fires -- South Dakota -- Madison; Campus Laboratory Training School (Madison, South Dakota); Fire
    • The Campus Laboratory Training School now called Beadle Campus School was destroyed by a fire on January 19, 1963. 46 years of service were ended. This excellent teacher-in-training laboratory facility was built in 1917.
    • Heating Plant

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; General Beadle State College -- Buildings
    • The Heating Plant was often called the Power House. The original heating plant was built between 1898 and 1899. In 1907, the smokestack was added. The building was expanded in 1913 to include the power house. It was located to the north of East...
    • Science Hall

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Eastern State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • The Science Hall was built in 1910. The first floor was a laboratory, and a classroom facility for chemistry, physics and agriculture. The second floor was the gymnasium. In 1923, a balcony was added. This building was located on the southwest area...
    • Campus Laboratory Training School

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Eastern State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • The Campus Laboratory Training School was built in 1917. It was an excellent teacher-in-training laboratory facility. In 1921, the name was changed to Eastern Campus School. Beadle Campus School became its name is 1947. On January 19, 1963 the...
    • Campus Laboratory Training School

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; Eastern State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • The Campus Laboratory Training School was built in 1917. It was an excellent teacher-in-training laboratory facility. In 1921, the name was changed to Eastern Campus School. Beadle Campus School became its name is 1947. On January 19, 1963 the...
    • Memorial Gymnasium

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; General Beadle State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • In 1960, the construction of the Memorial Gymnasium was completed. It was built in conjunction with the National Guard and was often called the National Guard Armory in earlier years. The building was named in honor of those who lost their lives...
    • Lowry Hall

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; General Beadle State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • In 1958, Lowry Hall was built as a dormitory for 70 male students. It was named after Vayne Arnold Lowry, the President of the University from 1933-1962. In 2000, the Business & Education Institute (BEI) and Computing Services moved into the...
    • Smith-Zimmermann Heritage Museum

    • Dakota State University -- Buildings; General Beadle State Teachers College -- Buildings
    • The Smith-Zimmermann Heritage Museum was dedicated on October 15, 1961 in honor of Captain and Mrs. H.P. Smith and Mr. and Mrs. Philip Zimmerman. In 1959, George Smith and Lillie Zimmermann together donated $75,000 for the museum building to be...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK