Skip to main content

Digital Library of South Dakota

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: USD Photograph Collection - USD

  • All fields: weight
(86 results)



Display: 20

    • "First class" orientation

    • 1974
    • School of Medicine; Students
    • Part of South Dakota’s charter class of M.D.s (1977) in the Lee auditorium.
    • Animal research

    • 1957
    • School of Medicine
    • Expanded research capability in the new Lee Building included raccoons.
    • Apartment 38, Cypress Court

    • 1958
    • Buildings; Cypress Court
    • In 1958, the University of South Dakota received a substantial loan to build Cypress Court and an addition to Julian Hall. Cypress Court consisted of forty small apartments and was inhabited by married students. Redwood Court joined the...
    • Art lesson

    • 1950-1960
    • Old Main; Unidentified; University Hall
    • This unidentified young student was one of many who attended summer art classes offered on campus by Professor Wilber M. Stilwell. This photograph, taken in Old Main when the art facilities were located on the third floor, illustrates a...
    • Arthur L. Haines

    • 1960s
    • School of Medicine; Arts and Sciences; Chemistry; Faculty; Haines, Arthur Lee; Students
    • Arthur L. Haines Ph.D., and two students work in a chemistry lab. Haines came to USD as a chemistry instructor in 1904. Organic and physiological chemistry courses were part of the Bachelor of Science in Medicine curriculum.
    • Audiological assessment

    • 1940-1959
    • College of Arts and Sciences; Communication Sciences and Disorders; Audiology
    • The examiner and examinee no doubt posed for this photograph. The instrument shown is probably a Maico H-1. This type of audiometer was popular in the 1950s.
    • Barber Fay Swisher

    • 1956
    •  
    • Barber Fay Swisher, originally from Emerson, Iowa, had his shop in the basement of the March Theatre for twenty years before moving to the Evergreen Service building group on Cherry Street in 1956. The March Theatre was torn down in early 1957....
    • Blood workshop

    • 1950s
    • School of Medicine; Students; Sacred Heart Hospital, Yankton (S.D.);
    • Possibly at Sacred Heart Hospital in Yankton where many medical students received clinical experience.
    • Cat skeleton

    • 1950s
    • School of Medicine; Anatomy; Students
    • Students in an anatomy lab studying a cat skeleton.
    • Cedric Cummins

    • 1975
    • Cummins, Cedric C. (1908-1980); Old Main
    • Cedric Cummins, former USD professor of history, authored The University of South Dakota, 1862-1966, a history of the University.
    • Chet Baker

    • 1957
    • Baker, Chet
    • Chet Baker, legendary jazz trumpet player, performed with his quintet in the Sioux Falls Community Playhouse (Orpheum Theatre) on January 15, 1957. Due to cold weather, only 400 people attended the concert.
    • Civil defense

    • 1963
    • Facilities Management
    • In 1963, the University of South Dakota began constructing fallout shelters on campus. These shelters were located beneath Norton Hall, Brookman Hall, Noteboom Hall, Burgess Hall, East Hall, Dakota Hall, and Julian Hall. The education building,...
    • Class composites

    • 1978
    • School of Medicine; Suelflow, Jerry; Bower, Tom; Garvin, Kevin;
    • From the left, Jerry Suelflow (1981), Tom Bower (1982) and Kevin Garvin (1982) view the “walls of fame” class composites located in the halls of the main floor of the Lee Building.
    • Commencement procession, Old Main

    • ca. 1950
    • Old Main; Students; Graduation
    • Graduation customs and traditions have changed with the years. For example, in 1914 the tradition consisted of the juniors forming an arch with black and orange pendants. Both the University President and Chancellor led the procession, followed by...
    • Coop

    • 1955
    • South Dakota Union
    • The University Co-Operative store, which was located on the first floor of the Union Building, was a student-owned, student-operated facility in which students could buy books and supplies as well as lunch and fountain drinks. In 1943, the Coop’s...
    • Coronary clinic

    • 1970
    • School of Medicine; Nursing; Students; Baik, Kay; Keeley, Ruth; Lawrenson, Mary Pat; Veurink, Helen
    • Students Kay Baik, Ruth Keeley, Mary Pat Lawrenson and Helen Veurink (likely in the associate nursing program) look at an electrocardiogram and watch a monitor at the head of the “patient”.
    • Costume design

    • 1953
    • College of Fine Arts; Theatre
    • Hallie Morris, left, and Joyce Jacobsen Wyant, right, consider final alterations on the costumes they are making for their dolls.
    • CPR training

    • 1959
    • Old Armory
    • CPR training was an instrumental part of physical education coursework. Physical education for women took place in the Old Armory, which is now the Belbas Center.
    • Creative Arts Festival

    • 1961
    • College of Fine Arts; Art; Creative Arts Festival; East Hall
    • “Invitation to Adventure” was the theme for the Creative Arts Festival held in Vermillion on May 12-14, 1961. Oscar Howe was named the Honorary Host for the event. The outdoor exhibition, which is shown in this photograph, was a component of...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK