Skip to main content

Digital Library of South Dakota

Add or remove other collections to your search:

Narrow your search by:

You've searched: USD Photograph Collection - USD

  • All fields: music
(63 results)

Display: 20

    • Shrine to Music Museum grand opening

    • 1975
    • Shrine to Music Museum; National Music Museum
    • The Shrine to Music Museum opened new galleries to the public in November 1975, in what was then the original location of the W. H. Over Museum. Included at the ribbon cutting ceremony from the left were: Mrs. Barnes Abell, president of the Shrine...
    • Aerial view of campus

    • 1929-1930
    • Old Main; Slagle Auditorium; Slagle Hall; Administration Building; East Hall; University Hall; East Hall; Science Hall; Belbas Center; Old Armory; Shrine to Music Museum; W. H. Over Museum; National Music Museum
    • 1. An airplane view showing part of the campus of the University, and the north part of the residence section of Vermillion.
    • Voice lesson with Professor A. L. Wilson

    • 1934
    • College of Fine Arts; Music; Students; Unidentified
    • An unidentified student sings under the direction of A. L. Wilson, professor of music at the University of South Dakota from 1915-1968.
    • Officers of the Choral Society

    • 1902-1903
    • Academics; Faculty; Choral Society; Talcott, Alice; Payne, Jason Elihu; Logan, John D.; Grabill, Ethelbert W.; Woods, Marjorie; Sloan, Charles A.; Meyers, Ralph McOmber; Foster, Herbert Baldwin
    • Officers of the Choral Society from left to right: Music Instructor Alice Talcott; English Instructor and Professor of Law Jason Elihu Payne; Professor of English and Philosophy John D. Logan; Director of Music and Dean Ethelbert W. Grabill; Vocal...
    • Administration building

    • 1929-1930
    • Slagle Auditorium; Slagle Hall; Administration Building
    • 3. Rear entrance to the Administration building. The building contains the administration offices, music practice rooms, the museum, and Slagle auditorium. The auditorium has a seating capacity of 2,250.
    • University Hall

    • 1929-1930
    • University Hall; Old Main
    • 2. The entrance to historic University Hall. This building houses many of the class rooms and offices for the college of arts and sciences and the college of music, and contains the offices of the Extension division.
    • USD band

    • 1899
    • Academics; College of Fine Arts; Departments; Music; Band
    • USD band

    • 1924
    • Academics; College of Fine Arts; Departments; Music; Band; Wenzel, William; Erickson, Forest; Ireland, William; Hagen, Isaiah; Tye, Joseph; Danielson, Willard; Smiley, Robert A; Ulmer, Albert; Wendt, Leroy; Ireland, Arthur T.; Gutz, Max; Posthuma,...
    • USD band on the stairs of the Carnegie Library. Row one (back): William Wenzel, Forrest Erickson, William Ireland, Isaiah Hagen, Joseph Tye, Willard Danielson; Row two: Robert A. Smiley, Albert Ulmer, Leroy Wendt, Arthur T. Ireland (Bandmaster),...
    • Campus buildings

    • 1910s
    • Buildings; Campus views; Armory; Old Armory; Belbas Center; College of Law; Arts and Sciences; Old Main; University Hall; Carnegie Library; Shrine to Music Museum; National Music Museum; Chemistry Building; Pardee Laboratory; East Hall; Science Hall
    • Collage of photographs of campus buildings.
    • New Armory

    • 1929-1930
    • Buildings; New Armory
    • 12. The new $250,000 armory and gymnasium.
    • Basketball courts in New Armory

    • 1929-1930
    • New Armory; E. O. Lawrence Telecommunications
    • 14. The basketball floor in the new armory and gymnasium. This is the largest basketball floor in the state of South Dakota. It contains three regulation size courts. More than 2,000 persons can be seated at basketball games. The room also contains...
    • Swimming pool in New Armory

    • 1929-1930
    • New Armory; E. O. Lawrence Telecommunications
    • 15. A group of students enjoying the swimming pool in the new armory. The pool is 25 x 75 feet in size.
    • Chemistry building

    • 1929-1930
    • Pardee Laboratory; Chemistry Building
    • 10. Entrance to the chemistry building.
    • East Hall

    • 1929-1930
    • Buildings; East Hall
    • 17. A view of East Hall, dormitory for women students.
    • Dakota Hall

    • 1929-1930
    • Buildings; Dakota Hall
    • 19. A view of Dakota Hall, another dormitory for women students.


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search