Skip to main content

Digital Library of South Dakota

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: USD Photograph Collection - USD

  • All fields: campus
(20 results)



Display: 20

    • Campus in 1905

    • 1905
    • Buildings; Campus views; Science Hall; West Hall; Armory; Old Armory; University Hall; Old Main
    • Campus in 1905. Buildings from left to right: Science Hall, West Hall, Armory, and University Hall. Title from recto. Inscribed on recto and verso: campus in 1905.
    • SD University Campus, Vermillion

    • 1911-1913
    • Buildings; Campus views; Carnegie Library; Science Hall; Armory; Old Armory; Old Main; University Hall
    • View of the University of South Dakota campus. From left to right: Carnegie Library, Science Hall, Armory, and Old Main. Inscribed on recto: S D University Campis, Vermilion NO 52C.
    • West Hall, University Hall (Old Main), East Hall

    • 1891
    • Buildings; Campus views; West Hall; University Hall; Old Main; East Hall
    • Early view of the campus of the University of South Dakota, which in 1891 comprised the three buildings seen here: West Hall, University Hall (Old Main), and East Hall.
    • Greetings from Vermillion So. Dak.

    • 1910s
    • Buildings; Campus views; College of Law; Arts and Sciences; Old Main; University Hall; Carnegie Library; Chemistry Building; Pardee Laboratory; East Hall; Science Hall
    • A real photo postcard comprised of collaged photo postcards of buildings from the University of South Dakota campus. Buildings pictured from left to right, top and then bottom: College of Law (Arts and Sciences), Main Building (Old Main or...
    • Campus buildings

    • 1910s
    • Buildings; Campus views; Armory; Old Armory; Belbas Center; College of Law; Arts and Sciences; Old Main; University Hall; Carnegie Library; Shrine to Music Museum; National Music Museum; Chemistry Building; Pardee Laboratory; East Hall; Science Hall
    • Collage of photographs of campus buildings.
    • Mobile x-ray unit

    • ca. 1954
    •  
    • Beginning in the fall of 1948, a mobile chest x-ray unit was brought to the University of South Dakota campus. The primary purpose for bringing the x-ray to campus was to detect tuberculosis, but the x-ray pointed out various other conditions as...
    • Campus Capers

    • 1954
    • KUSD; Petersen, Paul; Peterson, Harlan; Peterson, Corrine; Forster, James; Gardner, Keith Olin; Swick, Larry; Francis, Carter James; Lowe, Dave; Murphy, Mary; Stoecker, Delores; Green, Dianne; Lee, Mary Jane; Roth, Connie; Woodward, June
    • Cast from the first KUSD television production, "Campus Capers." Standing left to right: Paul Petersen, James Forster, Keith Gardner, Larry Swick, Harlan Peterson, Jim Francis, Dave Lowe. Seated left to right: Mary Murphy, June Woodward, Delores...
    • Mobile x-ray unit

    • 1940-1959
    •  
    • Beginning in the fall of 1948, a mobile chest x-ray unit was brought to the University of South Dakota campus. The primary purpose for bringing the x-ray to campus was to detect tuberculosis, but the x-ray pointed out various other conditions as...
    • Aerial view of campus

    • 1929-1930
    • Old Main; Slagle Auditorium; Slagle Hall; Administration Building; East Hall; University Hall; East Hall; Science Hall; Belbas Center; Old Armory; Shrine to Music Museum; W. H. Over Museum; National Music Museum
    • 1. An airplane view showing part of the campus of the University, and the north part of the residence section of Vermillion.
    • Arts and Sciences

    • 1920s
    • Buildings; Campus views; School of Law; Arts and Sciences; East Hall
    • Exterior view of the Arts and Sciences building, formerly known as the School of Law and marked College of Law on the exterior. A portion of East Hall appears to the left.
    • West Hall, Armory (Belbas Center), Old Main, Science Hall, East Hall

    • 1900-1905
    • Buildings; Campus views; West Hall; Armory; Old Armory; Old Main; University Hall; Science Hall; East Hall
    • Page from an album by Dr. Thomas Cruickshank showing a collage of five pictures from the University. Clockwise starting from bottom left: Science Hall and West Hall, West Hall, Old Main (University Hall), East Hall. Center: Armory (Old Armory).
    • Coop

    • 1955
    • South Dakota Union
    • The University Co-Operative store, which was located on the first floor of the Union Building, was a student-owned, student-operated facility in which students could buy books and supplies as well as lunch and fountain drinks. In 1943, the Coop’s...
    • Grand old silver maple

    • 1989
    • Grand Old Silver Maple
    • On April 23, 1884, Arbor Day, students of the University planted a silver maple tree. One hundred years later on April 26, 1984, students and USD alumni celebrated the centennial birthday of South Dakota’s largest silver maple tree by planting...
    • Art lesson

    • 1950-1960
    • Old Main; Unidentified; University Hall
    • This unidentified young student was one of many who attended summer art classes offered on campus by Professor Wilber M. Stilwell. This photograph, taken in Old Main when the art facilities were located on the third floor, illustrates a...
    • Dental Hygiene students

    • 1971
    • School of Medicine; Marty Indian School, Marty (S.D.); Students
    • Dental hygiene students Brenda Jansen (1972) and Marge Blaue (1972) present information at the Marty, South Dakota, Indian School. The dental hygiene program was authorized July 1, 1966, and began September 1967. “We do presentations outside of...
    • Observatory

    • ca. 1955
    • Observatory; Unidentified
    • An unidentified student peers through the telescope at the observatory located on the north side of Inman Field on the University of South Dakota campus. The observatory was built in 1917 at the cost of $6,500. Features of the observatory included...
    • Clay County Courthouse

    • 1882
    • Buildings; Clay County Courthouse; Epstein, Ephraim M. (1882-1883); University of Dakota; 1st President; Presidents; Students
    • Students of the first University classes with Dr. Ephraim M. Epstein (first President of the University) in front of the Clay County Courthouse. Inscribed on recto: Clay County Courthouse where the first classes of the Univeristy of South Dakota...
    • Civil defense

    • 1963
    • Facilities Management
    • In 1963, the University of South Dakota began constructing fallout shelters on campus. These shelters were located beneath Norton Hall, Brookman Hall, Noteboom Hall, Burgess Hall, East Hall, Dakota Hall, and Julian Hall. The education building,...
    • Carnegie Library

    •  
    • Buildings; Carnegie Library
    • Front view of the Carnegie Vermillion, on the University of South Dakota campus.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK