Skip to main content

Digital Library of South Dakota

Add or remove other collections to your search:

Narrow your search by:

You've searched: USD Photograph Collection - USD

  • All fields: Main
(42 results)

Display: 20

    • Aerial view of campus

    • 1929-1930
    • Old Main; Slagle Auditorium; Slagle Hall; Administration Building; East Hall; University Hall; East Hall; Science Hall; Belbas Center; Old Armory; Shrine to Music Museum; W. H. Over Museum; National Music Museum
    • 1. An airplane view showing part of the campus of the University, and the north part of the residence section of Vermillion.
    • Alumni Day commencement

    • 1929-1930
    • Alumni Day; Old Main; University Hall
    • 47. The start of the senior procession on Alumni day at commencement time.
    • Art lesson

    • 1950-1960
    • Old Main; Unidentified; University Hall
    • This unidentified young student was one of many who attended summer art classes offered on campus by Professor Wilber M. Stilwell. This photograph, taken in Old Main when the art facilities were located on the third floor, illustrates a...
    • Campus buildings

    • 1910s
    • Buildings; Campus views; Armory; Old Armory; Belbas Center; College of Law; Arts and Sciences; Old Main; University Hall; Carnegie Library; Shrine to Music Museum; National Music Museum; Chemistry Building; Pardee Laboratory; East Hall; Science Hall
    • Collage of photographs of campus buildings.
    • Campus in 1905

    • 1905
    • Buildings; Campus views; Science Hall; West Hall; Armory; Old Armory; University Hall; Old Main
    • Campus in 1905. Buildings from left to right: Science Hall, West Hall, Armory, and University Hall. Title from recto. Inscribed on recto and verso: campus in 1905.
    • Cedric Cummins

    • 1975
    • Cummins, Cedric C. (1908-1980); Old Main
    • Cedric Cummins, former USD professor of history, authored The University of South Dakota, 1862-1966, a history of the University.
    • Class composites

    • 1978
    • School of Medicine; Suelflow, Jerry; Bower, Tom; Garvin, Kevin;
    • From the left, Jerry Suelflow (1981), Tom Bower (1982) and Kevin Garvin (1982) view the “walls of fame” class composites located in the halls of the main floor of the Lee Building.
    • Commencement procession, Old Main

    • ca. 1950
    • Old Main; Students; Graduation
    • Graduation customs and traditions have changed with the years. For example, in 1914 the tradition consisted of the juniors forming an arch with black and orange pendants. Both the University President and Chancellor led the procession, followed by...
    • Dakota Day parade

    • 1954
    • Events; Dakota Day; Main Street; Modern Electric Company; O. P. Skaggs; Ideal Billiard Parlor; Co-ed Theatre; The Black Dakotas; Rear Window
    • View of the Dakota Day parade on Main Street.
    • Dakota day parade on Main Street

    • 1953-1954
    • Events; Dakota Day; University Band; Majorettes; Main Street; Dakota Street; Stewart Standard Service; Carl's Service
    • Engineering Shop

    • 1929-1930
    • Buildings; Engineering Shops; College of Engineering
    • 16. One of the units of the engineering shops. The shop equipment for mechanical engineering is housed in the main part of this building.
    • Football team

    • ca. 1910
    • Athletics; Football; Team photographs; Old Main; University Hall
    • Football team in front of Old Main.
    • Greetings from Vermillion So. Dak.

    • 1910s
    • Buildings; Campus views; College of Law; Arts and Sciences; Old Main; University Hall; Carnegie Library; Chemistry Building; Pardee Laboratory; East Hall; Science Hall
    • A real photo postcard comprised of collaged photo postcards of buildings from the University of South Dakota campus. Buildings pictured from left to right, top and then bottom: College of Law (Arts and Sciences), Main Building (Old Main or...
    • Law Sneak Day

    • 1914
    • Events; Law School; Students; Law Sneak Day
    • Procession heading down Main Street, Vermillion, for Law Sneak Day at the University of South Dakota, 1914.
    • Medical library reading room

    • 1956
    • School of Medicine; Lommen Health Sciences Library; Students
    • Students study in the new medical library reading room. The library was dedicated to Christian P. Lommen, the first dean. Lommen's son Peter attended the Lee Building dedication. A University medical library was established in 1907 to serve the...
    • Military unit

    • 1903
    • Academics; College of Arts and Sciences; Military Science; Old Main; University Hall
    • Military unit in front of Old Main.
    • Old Main

    • 1894-1910
    • Buildings; University Hall; Old Main


Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search