Skip to main content

Digital Library of South Dakota

You've searched: USD Photograph Collection - USD

  • All fields: Box
(39 results)



Display: 20

    • Apartment 38, Cypress Court

    • University of South Dakota
    • In 1958, the University of South Dakota received a substantial loan to build Cypress Court and an addition to Julian Hall. Cypress Court consisted of forty small apartments and was inhabited by married students. Redwood Court joined the...
    • Art lesson

    • University of South Dakota
    • This unidentified young student was one of many who attended summer art classes offered on campus by Professor Wilber M. Stilwell. This photograph, taken in Old Main when the art facilities were located on the third floor, illustrates a...
    • Barber Fay Swisher

    • University of South Dakota
    • Barber Fay Swisher, originally from Emerson, Iowa, had his shop in the basement of the March Theatre for twenty years before moving to the Evergreen Service building group on Cherry Street in 1956. The March Theatre was torn down in early 1957....
    • Chet Baker

    •  
    • Chet Baker, legendary jazz trumpet player, performed with his quintet in the Sioux Falls Community Playhouse (Orpheum Theatre) on January 15, 1957. Due to cold weather, only 400 people attended the concert.
    • Civil defense

    • University of South Dakota
    • In 1963, the University of South Dakota began constructing fallout shelters on campus. These shelters were located beneath Norton Hall, Brookman Hall, Noteboom Hall, Burgess Hall, East Hall, Dakota Hall, and Julian Hall. The education building,...
    • Commencement procession, Old Main

    • University of South Dakota
    • Graduation customs and traditions have changed with the years. For example, in 1914 the tradition consisted of the juniors forming an arch with black and orange pendants. Both the University President and Chancellor led the procession, followed by...
    • Coop

    • University of South Dakota
    • The University Co-Operative store, which was located on the first floor of the Union Building, was a student-owned, student-operated facility in which students could buy books and supplies as well as lunch and fountain drinks. In 1943, the Coop’s...
    • CPR training

    • University of South Dakota
    • CPR training was an instrumental part of physical education coursework. Physical education for women took place in the Old Armory, which is now the Belbas Center.
    • Creative Arts Festival

    • University of South Dakota
    • “Invitation to Adventure” was the theme for the Creative Arts Festival held in Vermillion on May 12-14, 1961. Oscar Howe was named the Honorary Host for the event. The outdoor exhibition, which is shown in this photograph, was a component of...
    • Dean Belbas

    • University of South Dakota
    • Dean Belbas, a 1956 graduate of the University of South Dakota, was involved in several activities during his University career. Some of these activities included: Marketing Club, baseball, tennis, Coyote, Volante, and sports publicity director....
    • Dean, Donna, and Scott Sumner

    • University of South Dakota
    • Dean and Donna Sumner and their son, Scott, are shown at their home in University Park. University Park, located north of Julian Hall, was constructed for married veterans attending school. Dean Sumner graduated from USD in 1956 with a degree in...
    • Fred Borsch and Tootsie

    • University of South Dakota
    • Deadwood businessman and promoter of South Dakota tourism, Fred Borsch, and his coyote Tootsie graced the University of South Dakota with their presence at Dakota Day in 1953. In 1947, Fred Borsch and his wife Esther were given a coyote pup...
    • Home economics

    • University of South Dakota
    • Home economics classes were held in the north end of Dakota Hall, which also housed the girls’ dormitory. This photograph shows Mrs. Amy Eastman teaching a foods class. This room had several individual “kitchens” for students to use.
    • Interior of Law Library

    • University of South Dakota
    • The law library shown here was housed in the original law building, established by the South Dakota Legislature in 1908. Plans for a new law library were initiated in 1949 with the arrival of George Townsend, the University’s first full-time...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK